Window tint increases privacy for vehicle owners and also controls temperature. This is allowed in the US, but it is against Colorado’s law to use very dark tinting. There are rules that state how opaque vehicles’ windows should be. Breaking any of them can lead to a traffic ticket or a hefty fine. Besides, using the wrong or applying too dark tint is an infraction that can make a driver automatically liable for a car crash in some situations.
It is against the US law to have black windows that do not allow law enforcers or the police to see the car’s interior. It is therefore, essential to adhere to the guideline given by local authorities regarding Visible Light Transmission percentage. This refers to the amount of light allowed in by the tint. Every state has clearly defined laws regarding window tinting. One can always seek advice from tint experts who are aware of standards set American Standard Window Film to avoid breaking the law, regardless of their location.
According to Colorado’s tint laws, the tint should not allow less than 70% light transmission via the windshield, and all windows should allow at least 27% of light. This is compulsory for all vehicles registered in Colorado State, and if registered in another state, it should transmit a minimum of 20% of light via windows. It is also against the law to have mirrored and metallic window tinting or amber and red color.
Vehicle manufacturers in Colorado are legally allowed to use tint, though some aftermarket tints are against the law. You are not required by law to have a sticker attached to your vehicle to declare that the tinting meets the legal requirements, but you should have it.
Illegal Tinting In Colorado
Breaking tint laws in Colorado is a Class B infraction and can earn the driver a traffic ticket. It also comes with additional legal consequences. If the vehicle has illegal VLT or type of window tint on car windows, he or she may be held liable for a crash due to lack of proper visibility.
An offender can also receive a penalty for violating the law between $500 and $5000. Note that the Colorado tint laws do not allow use of any special tint for medical exceptions.
Can One Add Window Tint Legally?
Anyone thinking of adding a fancy tint to their vehicle, it is impossible in Colorado State. The law prohibits the use of mirrors and metallic window ting styles. Such tints can amplify the sun’s glare leading to visual impairment to fellow drivers on the road. It may also hinder law enforcement as an officer cannot see a vehicle’s interior as he or she approaches it.
However, window tint is legal as long as one adheres to the guideline laid out by Colorado State. It comes with many benefits when done correctly. Contact Pueblo Tint for American Standard Window Film that will not land you on the wrong side of the law. They are experts who are versed in tinting laws, and their services are excellent.
Give us a call @ (719) 289 3313 if you’re interested to our services.